Hilton Head Island
short-term rental taxes.
Start with the recorded local taxes and permit overview for Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. Check the current requirements for your exact address.
What you need to do in Hilton Head Island
Checked against the source- No actionShort-term rentals are allowed in Hilton Head Island
The record lists no ban. Zoning and HOA rules for your address still apply.
- To doGet the Hilton Head Island short-term rental license or registration
Fee: 2026 fee changed from flat $250 to $150 per bedroom (payment portal opened 4/6/2026). Term: Annual.
- To doAirbnb, Vrbo and Booking.com collect the 3% Hilton Head Island occupancy tax for you
That is per the record. On direct bookings, you collect and remit it yourself.
- To doFile quarterly returns
The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. The record says you file even when a platform collected the tax. File even when you owe nothing for the period (per the source).
Get a reminder before each quarterly Hilton Head Island return is due
Save your rental and its filing dates for free. Starter and Pro email you before each saved date, and when a published rule change for Hilton Head Island affects your rental.
Create a free accountWhat to know.
The record for Hilton Head Island lists 3% as the occupancy tax, but its recorded total of 10% (3% + 2% + 5%) does not reconcile with it and needs review. The state table lists a 7% South Carolina state accommodations tax in addition. This combines the 5% state sales tax and 2% state accommodations tax. Local taxes may apply separately. The record says platforms collect this tax but you still file a return or report with the authority. Direct bookings are yours to collect and remit. A license or registration is required. Fee: 2026 fee changed from flat $250 to $150 per bedroom (payment portal opened 4/6/2026). Term: Annual.
At a glance.
- Local tax
- 3%
- State tax
- 7%
- Total for a direct booking
- 10% or more
- License
- Required
- Local filing
- You still file
See the detailed rental report
See recorded licensing details, source records and a tax estimate. Save your rental to keep reports and documents together.
What the recorded taxes cover
Conflicting recorded total: 10%
The combined total has an inconsistent or unconfirmed component breakdown: 3% Total on gross rental proceeds : 1% local accommodations tax; 2% Beach Preservation Fee; 5% /month penalty. It is excluded from the estimate. The separately recorded occupancy rate is used where available; the estimate is partial and other taxes may apply. Confirm the current total with the authority.
Tax details
Exemptions, penalties, filing information, and effective dates from the linked sources.
Hilton Head Island: Recorded remittance instructions
Town of HHI Revenue Services Office, 1 Town Center Court, Hilton Head Island SC 29928 (quarterly; zero returns required)
Hilton Head Island: Recorded filing schedule
Filing frequency: Quarterly.
Platform tax collection guidance for Hilton Head Island
A platform marked as collecting is named or covered by the record. The record also says you still file a return or report, even for platform-collected tax. Check each channel's tax settings.
Your next steps
Get the required license or registration
Apply before you list. Fee: 2026 fee changed from flat $250 to $150 per bedroom (payment portal opened 4/6/2026). Term: Annual.
Collection of the 3% local tax
Platforms collect this tax. You collect and remit tax on direct bookings.
File your tax returns
File quarterly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. The record says you file even when a platform collected the tax. File even when you owe nothing for the period (per the source).
Check the state tax requirements
Use the linked state tax instructions to register and file.
Sources & confidence
How we collect and check this information · Report a problem with this page
Hilton Head Island STR tax FAQ
Does Airbnb pay my Hilton Head Island occupancy taxes?
Airbnb collects this tax. You still file the required returns, and you collect and remit tax on direct bookings.
Do I need a license to Airbnb in Hilton Head Island?
A license or registration is required. Fee: 2026 fee changed from flat $250 to $150 per bedroom (payment portal opened 4/6/2026). Term: Annual.
What happens if I don't file?
Penalties and interest depend on the tax and authority. Check the applicable rules and contact the authority about any missed filings or payments.
How often do I file?
File quarterly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. The record says you file even when a platform collected the tax. File even when you owe nothing for the period (per the source).
Ready to save your rental?
Open this location's detailed report and save your rental in one place.