Skip to content
Taxes›Georgia›Rabun County›Dillard

Dillard
short-term rental taxes.

Data date: Jun 2026

Start with the recorded local taxes and permit overview for Dillard, Georgia. Check the current requirements for your exact address.

Rental conditions are recorded in Dillard
Rabun County STR ordinance (Dec 2022: registration; 12-person cap; county-resident agent; Vacation Cottage zoning) applies to unincorporated areas only.
Find published guidance for your Dillard address
Check published permit and tax guidance for Dillard.

What you need to do in Dillard

Checked against the source
  1. To do
    Meet the local rental conditions

    Rabun County STR ordinance (Dec 2022: registration; 12-person cap; county-resident agent; Vacation Cottage zoning) applies to unincorporated areas only.

  2. To do
    Get the Dillard short-term rental license or registration

    No city-specific STR ordinance found; Rabun County STR ordinance (Dec 2022: registration; 12-person cap; county-resident agent; Vacation Cottage zoning) applies to unincorporated areas only

    Where to apply

  3. To do
    Airbnb, Vrbo and Booking.com collect the 8% Dillard occupancy tax for you

    That is per the record. On direct bookings, you collect and remit it yourself.

  4. To do
    File monthly returns for direct bookings

    The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.

Verify each step with the authority before you file or apply. Source

Get a reminder before each monthly Dillard return is due

Save your rental and its filing dates for free. Starter and Pro email you before each saved date, and when a published rule change for Dillard affects your rental.

Create a free account

What to know.

Rabun County STR ordinance (Dec 2022: registration; 12-person cap; county-resident agent; Vacation Cottage zoning) applies to unincorporated areas only. The published guide for Dillard lists 8% local occupancy tax. The state table lists a 4% Georgia state sales tax in addition. The state base rate excludes local taxes and the separate $5 per night state hotel-motel fee where applicable. A license or registration is required.

At a glance.

Local tax
8%
State tax
4%
Total for a direct booking
12%
License
Required
Local filing
Platform collects

Tax details

Exemptions, penalties, filing information, and effective dates from the linked sources.

Dillard: Recorded remittance instructions

8% HMT to City of Dillard monthly

Dillard: Recorded filing schedule

Filing frequency: Monthly.

Source for these notes: rabuncounty.ga.gov: short term rental ordinance

Platform tax collection guidance for Dillard

Collection is shown separately for each booking channel. Direct-booking taxes are paid by the host.

PlatformStateLocal
AirbnbPlatform collectsPlatform collects
VrboPlatform collectsPlatform collects
Booking.comPlatform collectsPlatform collects
DirectYou collect and remitYou collect and remit

Platform collects means the platform pays that tax. You collect and remit means you pay it. Collection details unavailable identifies a missing answer for that channel. Filing duties are listed separately.

Your next steps

  • Get the required license or registration

    Apply for the required license or registration with the licensing office before you list.

  • Collection of the 8% local tax

    Platforms collect this tax. You collect and remit tax on direct bookings.

  • File your tax returns

    File monthly returns for direct bookings. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.

  • Check the state tax requirements

    Use the linked state tax instructions to register and file.

Sources & confidence

How we collect and check this information · Report a problem with this page

FigureValueSourceStatus
Dillard occupancy tax8%Source linked
Georgia state sales tax4%Source linked
Georgia filing and tax guidanceSee guidanceSource linked
Licensing recordRequiredSource linked
Official sources for the taxes and permit requirements shown above.

Dillard STR tax FAQ

Does Airbnb pay my Dillard occupancy taxes?

Airbnb collects this tax. You collect and remit tax on direct bookings.

Do I need a license to Airbnb in Dillard?

A license or registration is required.

What happens if I don't file?

Penalties and interest depend on the tax and authority. Check the applicable rules and contact the authority about any missed filings or payments.

How often do I file?

File monthly returns for direct bookings. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.