Avon
short-term rental taxes.
Start with the recorded local taxes and permit overview for Avon, Colorado. Check the current requirements for your exact address.
What you need to do in Avon
Checked against the source- To doMeet the local rental conditions
zone-based STR caps.
- To doGet the Avon short-term rental license or registration
Fee: Community housing regulatory fee $1,200/bedroom for full STR license (credits prior $75 fee).
- To doCollect and remit the 6% combined local taxes yourself
The record says booking platforms do not collect it, so you add it to every booking, platform and direct, and pay it to the authority.
- To doFile monthly returns
The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Get a reminder before each monthly Avon return is due
Save your rental and its filing dates for free. Starter and Pro email you before each saved date, and when a published rule change for Avon affects your rental.
Create a free accountWhat to know.
zone-based STR caps. The published guide for Avon lists 6% combined tax rate. Recorded components: 4% Public accommodations tax; 2% STR tax for community housing. The state table lists a 2.9% Colorado state sales tax in addition. The state base rate excludes local taxes and any separate lodging charges. A license or registration is required. Fee: Community housing regulatory fee $1,200/bedroom for full STR license (credits prior $75 fee).
At a glance.
- Combined tax
- 6%
- State tax
- 2.9%
- Total for a direct booking
- 8.9%
- License
- Required
- Local filing
- You collect and remit
See the detailed rental report
See recorded licensing details, source records and a tax estimate. Save your rental to keep reports and documents together.
What the recorded taxes cover
Recorded local sales tax: 4%
The sales-tax rate is shown separately and is not added again to the lodging-tax estimate.
Tax details
Exemptions, penalties, filing information, and effective dates from the linked sources.
Avon: Recorded remittance instructions
accommodations + STR tax remitted directly to Town of Avon (self-collected); monthly via town portal
Avon: Recorded filing schedule
Filing frequency: Monthly.
Platform tax collection guidance for Avon
Collection is shown separately for each booking channel. Direct-booking taxes are paid by the host.
Your next steps
Get the required license or registration
Apply before you list. Fee: Community housing regulatory fee $1,200/bedroom for full STR license (credits prior $75 fee).
Collection of the 6% combined tax
You collect and remit this tax using the linked filing instructions.
File your tax returns
File monthly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Check the state tax requirements
Use the linked state tax instructions to register and file.
Sources & confidence
How we collect and check this information · Report a problem with this page
Avon STR tax FAQ
Does Airbnb pay my Avon occupancy taxes?
You collect and remit this tax for Airbnb and direct bookings.
Do I need a license to Airbnb in Avon?
A license or registration is required. Fee: Community housing regulatory fee $1,200/bedroom for full STR license (credits prior $75 fee).
What happens if I don't file?
Penalties and interest depend on the tax and authority. Check the applicable rules and contact the authority about any missed filings or payments.
How often do I file?
File monthly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Ready to save your rental?
Open this location's detailed report and save your rental in one place.