Palm Springs
short-term rental taxes.
Start with the recorded local taxes and permit overview for Palm Springs, California. Check the current requirements for your exact address.
What you need to do in Palm Springs
From the linked source- To doMeet the local rental conditions
VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic.
- To doGet the Palm Springs short-term rental license or registration
Fee: VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic.
- To doCollect and remit the 11.5% Palm Springs occupancy tax yourself
The record says booking platforms do not collect it, so you add it to every booking, platform and direct, and pay it to the authority.
- To doFile monthly returns
The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Get a reminder before each monthly Palm Springs return is due
Save your rental and its filing dates for free. Starter and Pro email you before each saved date, and when a published rule change for Palm Springs affects your rental.
Create a free accountWhat to know.
VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic. The published guide for Palm Springs lists 11.5% local occupancy tax. A license or registration is required. Fee: VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic.
At a glance.
- Local tax
- 11.5%
- State tax
- Local only
- License
- Required
- Local filing
- You collect and remit
See the detailed rental report
See recorded licensing details, source records and a tax estimate. Save your rental to keep reports and documents together.
What the recorded taxes cover
Recorded assessment: 1%
1% GPSTBID This charge has no separate STR applicability recorded and is shown outside the estimate.
Tax details
Exemptions, penalties, filing information, and effective dates from the linked sources.
Palm Springs: Recorded exemptions
TOT 11.5% per PSMC §3.24.030(a) (Ord. 1640 §2, 2003); filed 11.5% confirmed; no rate change. Note: 13.5% applies only to group meeting hotels (125+ rooms, §3.24.035) : SCO FY21-22 table's 13.50 was the group rate. Transient = 28 days or less. Exempt: beyond city's power; foreign govt officers (treaty/federal law); exemption claim at rent collection under penalty of perjury (§3.24.040).
Palm Springs: Recorded remittance instructions
City Finance online
Palm Springs: Recorded filing schedule
Filing frequency: Monthly.
Platform tax collection guidance for Palm Springs
Collection is shown separately for each booking channel. Direct-booking taxes are paid by the host.
Your next steps
Get the required license or registration
Apply before you list. Fee: VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic.
Collection of the 11.5% local tax
You collect and remit this tax using the linked filing instructions.
File your tax returns
File monthly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Sources & confidence
How we collect and check this information · Report a problem with this page
Palm Springs STR tax FAQ
Does Airbnb pay my Palm Springs occupancy taxes?
You collect and remit this tax for Airbnb and direct bookings.
Do I need a license to Airbnb in Palm Springs?
A license or registration is required. Fee: VR cert (density caps, 1/owner) + TOT permit $25 + bus. lic.
What happens if I don't file?
Penalties and interest depend on the tax and authority. Check the applicable rules and contact the authority about any missed filings or payments.
How often do I file?
File monthly returns. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it.
Ready to save your rental?
Open this location's detailed report and save your rental in one place.