Skip to content
Taxes›California›Riverside County›Desert Hot Springs

Desert Hot Springs
short-term rental taxes.

Data date: Jun 2026

Start with the recorded local taxes and permit overview for Desert Hot Springs, California. Check the current requirements for your exact address.

Rental conditions are recorded in Desert Hot Springs
VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.
Find published guidance for your Desert Hot Springs address
Check published permit and tax guidance for Desert Hot Springs.

What you need to do in Desert Hot Springs

From the linked source
  1. To do
    Meet the local rental conditions

    VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.

  2. To do
    Get the Desert Hot Springs short-term rental license or registration

    Fee: VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.

    Where to apply

  3. To do
    Airbnb, Vrbo and Booking.com collect the 12% Desert Hot Springs occupancy tax for you

    That is per the record. On direct bookings, you collect and remit it yourself.

  4. To do
    File monthly returns for direct bookings

    The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.

    Filing portal

Verify each step with the authority before you file or apply. Source

Get a reminder before each monthly Desert Hot Springs return is due

Save your rental and its filing dates for free. Starter and Pro email you before each saved date, and when a published rule change for Desert Hot Springs affects your rental.

Create a free account

What to know.

VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins. The published guide for Desert Hot Springs lists 12% local occupancy tax. A license or registration is required. Fee: VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.

At a glance.

Local tax
12%
State tax
Local only
License
Required
Local filing
Platform collects

Other taxes or assessments may apply. Review tax context and confirm the full amount for your rental with the authority.

What the recorded taxes cover

Recorded assessment: 1%

1% GPSTBID This charge has no separate STR applicability recorded and is shown outside the estimate.

Tax details

Exemptions, penalties, filing information, and effective dates from the linked sources.

Desert Hot Springs: Recorded effective date

2007-12-14

Desert Hot Springs: Recorded remittance instructions

Deckard

Desert Hot Springs: Recorded filing schedule

Filing frequency: Monthly.

Source for these notes: cityofdhs.org: vacation rentals

Platform tax collection guidance for Desert Hot Springs

Collection is shown separately for each booking channel. Direct-booking taxes are paid by the host.

PlatformStateLocal
AirbnbNonePlatform collects
VrboNonePlatform collects
Booking.comNonePlatform collects
DirectNoneYou collect and remit

Platform collects means the platform pays that tax. You collect and remit means you pay it. Collection details unavailable identifies a missing answer for that channel. Filing duties are listed separately.

Your next steps

  • Get the required license or registration

    Apply before you list. Fee: VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.

  • Collection of the 12% local tax

    Platforms collect this tax. You collect and remit tax on direct bookings.

  • File your tax returns

    File monthly returns for direct bookings. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.

Sources & confidence

How we collect and check this information · Report a problem with this page

FigureValueSourceStatus
Desert Hot Springs occupancy tax12%Source linked
California local lodging tax guidanceLocally administeredSource linked
Licensing recordRequiredSource linked
Official sources for the taxes and permit requirements shown above.

Desert Hot Springs STR tax FAQ

Does Airbnb pay my Desert Hot Springs occupancy taxes?

Airbnb collects this tax. You collect and remit tax on direct bookings.

Do I need a license to Airbnb in Desert Hot Springs?

A license or registration is required. Fee: VR permit (4% cap, 500-ft buffer) + $1M liability ins.

What happens if I don't file?

Penalties and interest depend on the tax and authority. Check the applicable rules and contact the authority about any missed filings or payments.

How often do I file?

File monthly returns for direct bookings. The record does not state the due day; the tax office's calendar has it. If every booking goes through a collecting platform, ask the tax office whether you still file.